And Death it calls as the stone crow breaks.
Streaks of blood malform its face.
Death becomes its withered eyes and the shadows whisper, “Lies.”

Broken, Angela B. Chrysler, Book Cover

 

It’s release day for Indie Author Angela B. Chrysler’s new novel, Broken!

Based on a true story, Broken is a tale of the aftermath of abuse and torture on a person’s psyche.
Warning: Broken contains very mature themes and is recommended for adults only.

About Broken:

buy now

Released: 9/11/2015 on Amazon & Smashwords!

When a young journalist, William D. Shaw, seeks out Elizabeth, an acclaimed author, in hopes to write her biography, the recluse grants him twenty-four hours to hear her story. What unfolds are events that teeter on the edge of macabre and a psychological thriller.

Together, they descend into the bowels of psyche and examine her past filled with neglect, rape, abuse, torture, and pedophilia to explore the psychology of a human being who has lived her entire life without love, comfort, family, physical contact, affection, therapy, or medication. As William tries to understand Elizabeth’s decisions to embrace an isolated life, he witnesses Elizabeth’s multiple mental conditions
that send her spiraling into the worlds of her psyche all while toggling the lines of insanity.


Words from Author Angela B. Chrysler:

For the first time in twenty years, I didn’t know. When in doubt, go back to the past, and that is what I did. Broken is the 96,000 words I wrote in two weeks to answer the question, “Who am I?”

Fashioned in the likeness of a psychological thriller, I used two characters to engage in psychological debate during an interview while I sorted through my past filled with neglect, rape, animal abuse, torture, and pedophilia. I explore the psychology of a human being who has lived her entire life without love, comfort, family, physical contact, affection, therapy, or medication. As I try to understand my decision to embrace an isolated life, my mental condition sends me spiraling into the multiple worlds of my psyche while toggling the lines of insanity.

From 7 March 2015 to 20 March 2015, I relived thirty years of trauma in two weeks and Broken records it all: the triggers, the hyperarousal, the breakdowns, the panic, the rationale behind the behavior. The thoughts I used to justify my behavior. The other worlds in my head where I lived for more than twenty years. The four fictional characters I created in place of the human relationships I lacked. I show the conversations I have with my fictional friends and lovers as the conversations took place.

I spiraled down a rabbit hole dressed as Don Quixote and battled through Wonderland where I conversed with my own ID. That is PTSD.

Broken shows you what PTSD is like for the survivor, and what it looks and feels like to emerge from the mental cocoon I lived in for thirty years. It shows the road I took to awareness while on that road. It shows how I arrived at awareness so that I can begin my recovery.

If you are a survivor of sexual abuse, do not read this until a therapist says you are ready.

 

Connect with Angela:

 

