★★★★★ 5 Stars ★★★★★

Hetta Coffey is a Tough Broad with Style


Jinx Schwartz, Hetta Coffey, Just the Pits, Book Cover

 

Just the Pits – Jinx Schwartz

In my 1-click fever, I managed to accidentally start the Hetta Coffey series with book 5, Just the Pits. This didn’t prevent me from enjoying the book in any way shape or form. Sure, there were probably things that went over my head, or that would have been more meaningful had I read the first 4 volumes in the series, but I got so wrapped up in the story, I didn’t care.

Hetta Coffey is a marvelous heroine with moxie in spades. Wherever she goes, trouble seems to follow… Or is it the other way around?

This book has everything you could ask for: drama, mystery, furry companions, and velveeta thievery. Hetta seems determined to stick her nose in where it doesn’t belong, and when people and money start going missing at her cushy new job with a Mexican mining corporation, she just has to get to the bottom of it. With help from her friend and vacationing sidekick, Jan, and a mysterious stranger, Hetta gets in over her head, and hilarity ensues.

Hint: Don’t try to read this book in any situation where spontaneous laughter may be frowned upon!

Needless to say, I’ll soon be gobbling up the rest of this series!


★ For more reviews from Lu J Whitley, check the Review Page

